With the support of:

MNE 2014 Fellowship Award

To promote micro- and nanoengineering in Europe, the MNE Steering Committee recognize every year a researcher or engineer who has made outstanding contributions to fields addressed by the MNE conference. The aim is to honor a researcher or engineer who has strong research roots in Europe by having worked in Europe for an important part of his or her career. The successful candidate must have inspired the MNE community by his or her leadership or outstanding work. This could, for example, be through leadership in the successful development and commercialization of a technology, the pioneering of a method or development of a tool with significant impact on current research or manufacturing methods, or an outstanding invention.

The MNE 2014 Fellowship Award is sponsored by:


The MNE steering committee is honored to announce that the 2014 MNE Fellowship will be attributed to:

Prof. Dr. Dieter Kern (University of Tübingen, Germany)

in recognition of his outstanding contributions in the field of nanostructuring
and the application of nanotechnology.


Prof. Kern will present a Plenary Lecture at MNE 2014 and will receive a commemorative plaque accompanied by monetary prize sponsored by micro resist technology GmbH, Berlin. The awarding ceremony will place during the Plenary Session of the MNE Conference.

Prof. Kern's talk "Nanofabrication at Age 45 - and Still Going Strong" will be given on
Wednesday, Sept. 24 at 9:15 in the Plenary Lecture Hall.

Prior to Prof. Kern, the MNE Fellowship was bestowed to :

  • Dr. Haroon Ahmed from University of Cambridge (founder of Microengineering conference, which became the Micro & Nanoengineering conference) at MNE 2003, Cambridge
  • Dr. Peter Vettiger from IBM Research – Zurich at MNE 2005, Vienna
  • Dr. Mike Hatzakis from NCSR Demokritos Athens at MNE 2006, Barcelona
  • Dr. Bruno Murari from ST Microelectronics at MNE 2010, Genoa
  • Dr. Luc Van den Hove from IMEC at MNE 2011, Berlin
  • Dr. Hans Löschner from IMS Nanofabrication AG in Austria at MNE 2012, Toulouse




Gold Sponsors
raith logo
Micronarc logo

csem  logo
PSI  logo
Eulitha logo
Elevier  logo
JEOL  logo
JEOL  logo

Silver Sponsors
Tronics  logo
newflare   logo
trumph   logo
empa   logo
Swissphotonics   logo
IBM   logo


Interested in sponsoring MNE and seeing your logo here?

Contact us for more information.


Stay informed!

Sign up to our mailing list to receive all announcements.




Organising partners:        
  csem logo EPFL logo PSI logo ethz logo
  IBM logo fsrm logo EMPA logo mimotec logo